CORONADO, CA, February 24, 2017:  The American College of Apothecaries presented the 2016 ACA Member of the Year Award to Nathan Pope, PharmD, FACA, Clinical Assistant Professor at The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy, at the College’s 2017 Annual Educational Conference.  The presentation was made during the Presidents’ Banquet Friday evening at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort.  The award is presented to a member of the College for exceptional accomplishment and effort in promoting the College and community pharmacy.

As a college of pharmacy faculty member and residency program director, Nathan works to develop compassionate, confident, clinical providers of advanced patient care services in a community pharmacy setting. He has been an advocate for all Community Pharmacy Practice Residencies, cultivating innovative practice settings, and outcomes from those practices, and currently serves as a guest surveyor for ASHP Accreditation Services.

Through his role as a site preceptor for an on-campus community pharmacy, Nathan supports the students’ involvement in patient care projects and educational offerings, including telephonic Medication Therapy Management Services for the Area Agency on Aging.

Within his profession, he serves as a board member of the Texas Pharmacy Association, and as a committee member in organizations such as APhA, NCPA, and ASHP, and as the College of Pharmacy’s representative to the Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA). In 2016 he was presented with the Bowl of Hygeia Award for outstanding community service by the Texas Pharmacy Association.

As an ACA Fellow, our recipient has served the College through roles on multiple committees, including membership and programs, as well as conducting admissions interviews.

Most notably, Nathan has been a vital member of our compounding training faculty. In addition to updating and instructing Fundamental Compounding and Calculations, last year he developed and taught a new Clinical Dermatological and Cosmeceutical Compounding Course. He also regularly conducts on-site compounding training for ACA across the US and in Canada.

The award criterion was established to ensure that the individual chosen to receive the award has contributed valued accomplishments, and exhibits enthusiasm and eagerness. Examples of the criterion include involvement in the areas of membership recruitment, committee involvement, and willingness to serve the College in any area that is needed. Deserving nominees must also have spent time serving his/her own community, promoting community pharmacy through mentoring, entrepreneurship and education.

This year’s truly recipient embodies all of those criteria, especially in the field of education as he has dedicated himself to the promotion of community pharmacy and the continued development of pharmacy professionals. Congratulations, Dr. Pope.