For Immediate Release
March 2014

The following independent pharmacists were installed, February 7, 2014, as officers of the American College of Apothecaries during its 2014 Annual Educational Conference in Fort Lauderdale, Florida:

Chairman of the Board – Ben Smith
Ben Smith graduated from pharmacy school at the University of Toronto in 1966 and purchased his first pharmacy in 1979 in a small community in Ontario.  From there he eventually opened eleven more, mostly in small communities.  Each pharmacy has been named Ben’s Pharmacy to have a small town feeling.  Ben joined ACA in 1990 and soon after NARD, now NCPA, and ASCP in order to provide his area with the highest standard of pharmaceutical care.  Ben continues to be the only Canadian pharmacist to be an active member of these three prestigious associations.  He is also a member of the Ontario Pharmacists Association and the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association.  Ben and his wife Donna have attended many conferences over the years and have especially enjoyed the friendships and the valuable educational opportunities through the ACA.  He has served on the ACA Admission Committee for many years and plans to continue to serve the College for many years.  Ben has been married for 43 years and has three children, two of which reside in the United States, as well as three grandchildren, two of which are US citizens.  They purchased a home in Arizona to maintain their close family ties.

President – Jim Martin
Jim Martin is a pharmacist licensed in both Georgia and Texas and has been the co-owner of Martin & Martin Management Consultants, LLC with his wife Dorinda since October 2004.  They currently operate multiple pharmacies in the Austin, Texas area. Martin served as Executive Director and CEO of the Texas Pharmacy Association from 2000 to 2009. He has also served as ACA Region 9 Director. A former Member of the Georgia General Assembly, Martin has also served as President and Chairman of the Board of the Georgia Pharmacy Association and President and Chairman of the Board of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) and is a member of the American Pharmacists Association, American College of Apothecaries, the Georgia Pharmacy Association and the Texas Pharmacy Association. Martin currently serves on the Board of Lone Star Co-Op & on the Board of Directors of its Affiliate, Compliant Pharmacy Alliance, LLC, and has been appointed by Texas Governor, Rick Perry to serve on the Board of The Texas Health Service Authority. Martin has been the recipient of multiple awards for leadership in pharmacy including the prestigious Bowl of Hygeia Award and the Pathfinders Award presented by the Texas Pharmacy Foundation.

President – Elect – Jerry Greene
Jerry Greene is a pharmacist and owner of San Diego Compounding Pharmacy.  Jerry received his pharmacy degree from Western Michigan University in 1982 then went on to receive his pharmacy degree at the University of the Pacific.  Jerry served two terms as President of the San Diego Chapter of the California Pharmacists Association after 6 years on their Board of Directors. For the past 10 years, Jerry has held an Assistant Clinical Professor’s position at University of California San Diego’s Skaggs School of Pharmacy.  Jerry was inducted as an ACA Fellow in 2003 and is currently serving his third (4 year term) as Region 12 Director for the ACA.

Vice President – Thomas J. Hunt
Tom Hunt received his B.S. degree in pharmacy from St. Louis College of Pharmacy in 1980 and his MBA from St. Louis University in 1986. Between 1980 and 1990, Tom worked as a staff pharmacist, pharmacy manager, district manager and business consultant to franchisees.  In 1990 he purchased Lindenwood Drug. Currently Tom has ownership in two pharmacies in the St. Louis area. In addition to his responsibilities as a pharmacist, manager and owner, Hunt is an adjunct clinical instructor at St. Louis College of Pharmacy and affiliate clinical faculty at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.  Tom has served as ACA Regional Director for Region 7 for several years.  He is also a member of the Missouri Pharmacist Association, NCPA, APhA, IACP, and the American College of Veterinary Pharmacists.

Treasurer – Steven Pryor
Steven Pryor received B.S. degree in pharmacy in 1981 and Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Southwestern Oklahoma State University in 2005.  Steve is currently the managing partner of Scheffe Prescription Shop in Enid, Oklahoma.  His professional interests are focused on patient care in community retail pharmacy. His local memberships include Enid Rotary Club, Enid Chamber of Commerce, and Main Street Enid.  He is also member of the Oklahoma Pharmacists Association and National Community Pharmacists Association. He has served as District Director of both the Oklahoma Pharmacist Association and Kansas Pharmacist Association. Steven has been a member of ACA for over 20 years and is currently serving as Region 8 Director and Treasurer.  Steven has been married to wife Donna for 32 years, and has three children.