American College of Apothecaries Installs Officers for 2015 – 2016

2015-04-17T10:34:26-05:00April 17th, 2015|Categories: News Release|

2015-16 Officers

The following independent pharmacists were installed as officers of the American College of Apothecaries during its 2015 Annual Educational Conference in Fort Lauderdale, Florida:

Chairman of the Board – Jim Martin
Jim Martin is a pharmacist licensed in both Georgia and Texas and has been the co-owner of Martin & Martin Management Consultants, LLC with his wife Dorinda since October 2004.  They currently operate multiple pharmacies in the Austin, Texas area. Martin served as Executive Director and CEO of the Texas Pharmacy Association from 2000 to 2009. He has also served as ACA Region 9 Director. A former Member of the Georgia General Assembly, Martin has also served as President and Chairman of the Board of the Georgia Pharmacy Association and President and Chairman of the Board of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) and is a member of the American Pharmacists Association, American College of Apothecaries, the Georgia Pharmacy Association and the Texas Pharmacy Association. Martin currently serves on the Board of Lone Star Co-Op & on the Board of Directors of its Affiliate, Compliant Pharmacy Alliance, LLC, and has been appointed by Texas Governor, Rick Perry to serve on the Board of The Texas Health Service Authority. Martin has been the recipient of multiple awards for leadership in pharmacy including the prestigious Bowl of Hygeia Award and the Pathfinders Award presented by the Texas Pharmacy Foundation.

President – Jerry Greene

Jerry Greene is a pharmacist and owner of San Diego Compounding Pharmacy.  After receiving his baccalaureate degree from Western Michigan University in 1982, Jerry then went on to receive his pharmacy degree at the University of the Pacific.  Jerry served two (1 year terms) as President of the San Diego Chapter of the California Pharmacists Association after 6 years on their Board of Directors. Since 2002, Jerry has held an Assistant Clinical Professor’s position at The University of California San Diego’s Skaggs School of Pharmacy.  Jerry was inducted as an ACA Fellow in 2003 and served three (4 year terms) as Region 12 Director for the ACA. He is a member of The American Pharmacists Association (APhA), The International Academy of Compounding Pharmacists (IACP), The California Pharmacists Association (CPhA), The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) and is a Lifetime Member of The Hog Owners Group.


Ben Smith Receives ACA’s Member of the Year Award

2015-04-17T09:29:33-05:00April 17th, 2015|Categories: News Release|


Member of the YearFort Lauderdale, FL, February 27, 2015: The American College of Apothecaries presented the 2014 Member of the Year Award to Ben Smith, of Uxbridge, Ontario at the College’s 2015 Annual Educational Conference at the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The presentation was made during the Presidents Banquet Friday evening, February 27th. This award, established in 2013, recognizes one ACA member, on an annual basis, for exceptional accomplishment and effort in promoting the College and community pharmacy.

Ben Smith graduated from pharmacy school at the University of Toronto in 1966 and purchased his first pharmacy in 1979 in a small community in Ontario. From there he eventually opened eleven more, mostly in small communities. Each pharmacy has been named Ben’s Pharmacy to have a small town feeling. (more…)

Go to Top