2015 ACA Member of the Year Linda McElhiney

2015 ACA Member of the Year Linda McElhiney with ACA Executive Vice-President Ed Hesterlee

CORONADO, CA, February 26, 2016:  The American College of Apothecaries presented the 2015 ACA Member of the Year Award to Linda McElhiney, PharmD, MSP, RPh, FIACA, FASHP, FIACP of Indianapolis, Indiana, at the College’s 2016 Annual Educational Conference.  The presentation was made during the Presidents’ Banquet Friday evening at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort.  The award is presented to a member of the College for exceptional accomplishment and effort in promoting the College and community pharmacy.

Dr. McElhiney has dedicated herself to advancing the science of compounding throughout her professional career through her roles as the Compounding Pharmacist-in Charge for Indiana University Health, the author of articles pertaining to hospital compounding for the International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding, author of the Compounding Guide for Ophthalmic Preparations, and contributor to both pharmacy and medical textbooks. Dr. McElhiney was a member of the USP Committee of Experts for Compounding for the 2010-2015 cycle.

Dr. McElhiney has served the pharmacy profession through numerous committees for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Kappa Epsilon, and IACP. She is a former board member for IACP and currently serves on the ACA Board of Directors.

A full fellow of ACA, ASHP, and IACP, Dr. McElhiney has been recognized before for her contributions and commitment to pharmacy. In 1989, she received the Unicorn Award for her active participation in Kappa Epsilon and in 2010, she received the KE/Merck Vanguard Leadership Award, which honors exemplary women pharmacists. Dr. McElhiney was awarded the Scheffe Scholarship by the ACA Foundation in 2012.

Since receiving a BS in Pharmacy from Purdue University in 1984, Dr. McElhiney has continued to expand her education. In 2002, she earned a PharmD from the University of Florida through the Working Professionals PharmD (WPPD) program while working full-time at IU Health. She has recently completed the ASHP Pharmacy Leadership Academy and is a 2014 graduate of the University of Florida Master of Pharmacy program with a focus on Institutional Leadership.